In Search of Sunshine


Bandi's Blog

IMG_0339

I flew to Sri Lanka in search of warmth and sunshine and for a break from the British winter. A new president was elected and the Pope arrived in Colombo to canonise the first Sri Lankan saint.

Harrogate was covered in fresh snow the day I braved the M62 to Manchester. Traffic was horrid and it took me three hours to crawl to the airport leaving me no time for a G&T in one of the Airport Angel lounges. In security, a woman swabbed my jacket. “What are looking for” I asked her. “Traces of explosives” she said. “Try my head. It is about to burst” I told her. She smiled.

Emirates flight 020 to Dubai that evening was one of the worst I have ever had. The cuisine would not win any awards and the service was in a sorry state. However, Emirates flight 654 from Dubai to Colombo…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a Reply

