Vineyards of Piedmont – A New World Heritage Site

Barolo 2

The vineyard landscape of Piedmont in northwest Italy was added to the World Heritage List last Sunday


“Becoming Italy’s 50th World Heritage Site, it has an official geographic designation of “Langhe-Roero and Monferrato” but its boundaries include the wine areas of Barolo, Barbaresco, Barbera d’Asti and Asti Spumante. The listing includes six separate zones including the Grinzane Cavour castle and five areas with outstanding landscape and distinctive wine production: the Langhe hills of Barolo, the Barbaresco hills, Nizza Monferrato for its Barbera production, Canelli for its Asti Spumante sparkling wine and Monferrato for its “infernots” (distinctive underground wine cellars). The region has a history of winemaking going back to pre-Roman times. The zone includes more than 10,000 hectares (25,000 acres) of land and 29 towns and villages, most of them implicated in wine production. The listing is awarded as much for the history and culture of its wine production as for its rural landscape, architecture and historic buildings. The interaction of man and nature is also cited.” – Wine-searcher

 HMWS last visited the vineyards of Piedmont way back in 2005. Here are a few more images from that visit:

Other spectacularly beautiful and historic vineyard areas already on the Heritage List include the Wachau in Austria, Tokaj in Hungary, Lavaux in Switzerland and the Upper Douro Port region of Portugal. The wine regions of the Côte d’Or in Burgundy and Champagne are both nominated by France for listing in 2015.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.